Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Living in Santo Domingo

Thanks
    I'm in the software development department of a major telcom. Quality assurance side of it. Middle management.
    I do think I could live in DR, if just for the weather alone. Lots better than shitty always raining Holland.
    Now if I could just get my spanish up to a business level and get myself transferred to DR................yes my telcom is active in DR. When I tell the girls they always seem to think I work in a shop. They can't comprehense there must be something bigger behind all these little shops to make it actually function....
    How would Santo Domingo be to live??? Lots different than the North Coast??

2. # ADS
    Our Supporters Support our advertisers!

Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Thanked 261,405 Times in 78,293 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jd_mine
    How would Santo Domingo be to live??? Lots different than the North Coast??
    High rise Hotels, shopping malls, multiplex movies. Its a real city! :shock:

You want access to trip reports?

Google Wallet

JDRent97@gmail.com

Thanks
    Yeah, I know, even Santiago was a real city compared to Sosua and even Puerto Plata.
    But in regards to lifestyle, girls etc. How does it compare to living in Sosua. I mean with a REAL job, not living like those expats in Sosua, who all claim to be millionaires, but don't have a peso....

Thanks
    Thanked 16,456 Times in 3,763 Posts
    I have alot of free time on my hands...

Hence the plethora of naked "provider" pics.

Thanks

living in SDQ

I think you could make a go of it, but I would certainly visit often before you move, for WEEKS at a time, not days, AND search out the expats just to get the non-lala land vision of what IS a third world country at times. I am all but convinced that I will retire there,perhaps sooner than later, but I too will give it the time test.