Thread: Car from Santo Domingo

Thanks

Car from Santo Domingo

I am planning on spending a long weekend in Sosua after concluding business in Santo Domingo. I will be flying into and out of the airport in Santo Domingo. I have looked at the bus schedules, and though they appear workable, they would be very inconvenient and not too compatible with a necessary early morning departure from Sosua.

I am American and in my thirties. I have plenty of experience driving and am able to operate a car in very hectic American driving conditions, such as DC, NY, LA, etc. I have also driven with some success, and no particular failures, in Mexico.

A few questions:

1. I saw the route on Google Earth. Looks generally like I would take Highway 1 to Highway 5. I would avoid the mountain route to stay on more navigable roads. Is the signage reasonable enough that it is fairly easy to remain on course if unfamiliar?

2. Are these roads reasonably paved the entire way? Can I get by with a car, or do I need an SUV?

3. How difficult are the roads around the larger towns?

4. Am I crazy for doing this? Should I just give up and take the bus?

Thanks!

2. # ADS
    Our Supporters Support our advertisers!

Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Thanked 84,361 Times in 13,901 Posts

Re: Car from Santo Domingo

Quote Originally Posted by joba62 View Post
    I am planning on spending a long weekend in Sosua after concluding business in Santo Domingo. I will be flying into and out of the airport in Santo Domingo. I have looked at the bus schedules, and though they appear workable, they would be very inconvenient and not too compatible with a necessary early morning departure from Sosua.

I am American and in my thirties. I have plenty of experience driving and am able to operate a car in very hectic American driving conditions, such as DC, NY, LA, etc. I have also driven with some success, and no particular failures, in Mexico.

A few questions: