Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 10/2018 - Negatives of Retiring Early

Thanks
    Thanked 97,678 Times in 17,146 Posts

10/2018 - Negatives of Retiring Early

Saw this article on Marketwatch....Thought is was good food for thought. Sage and Grey just mentioned a lot of these points on the retiring threads.

Think a lot of it has to do with what kind of job you have. If its a job you hate vs love makes a big difference in retiring....

For all the glamour of living an early retirement lifestyle, there are plenty of negatives I’ve come to discover since I permanently left my job in 2012.

I know why we revert to our baseline state of happiness, no matter how much freedom and money you have.

Let’s go through some of the negatives of retiring early now that I’m a grizzled veteran.

See Also
    The Race to Replace Your Keyboard

The downside of retiring early
    1) You will suffer an identity crisis for an unknown period. When you’ve spent at least a decade working in a profession, you’ll find it incredibly jolting to no longer be identified as the person who is a marketing expert, an investment professional, or the management consultant who can figure out how to optimize a business. It’s only after you leave your job do you truly realize how wound up you were in your profession.

Your identity crisis may last as short as three months or it might last for years. It all depends on how wrapped up you were in your job, how long you spent getting educated after high school, and whether you have a clear plan postretirement. Doctors are some of the people who suffer the most after leaving their occupations. Conversely, high school graduates who somehow struck it rich with a product or an invention seem to adjust much easier in postretirement life.