Thread: From Single Traveler

Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Thanked 261,405 Times in 78,293 Posts

From Single Traveler

A Dominican Republic real-estate primer

A few people asked me why I'm selling my penthouse in Sosua?? Am I bailing?? Actually just the opposite. First a little background.

I've been traveling the world for 20 years now and have bought homes in my favorite two destinations -- Cartagena (Colombia) and Sosua. I live in S. Calif and try to visit each place every two month. Yup, I got a lot of FF miles ....

Now my penthouse in Cartagena is great (www.singletravel.com/cartagena) and it is rented 90% of the time. Infact I must make a reservation to visit and I love the place. But I'm also a business man and the fact is in the two years of owning it, I maybe have seen a 5% appreciation in two years (yes, you can still buy an ocean front condo for $30,000 there-- amazing cheap, but it is Colombia). Here in Calif the same money in real-estate would have grown 100%.

Now the DR is sorta like Calif. I'v been coming to the North coast (Puerta Plata, Sosua and Cabarete) for 15 years now and have seen the complete cycle. 15 years ago is was like the South of France, five years ago a real-estate disaster and now a new life. Cabarete has been the driver here and is basically 100% sold out of anything nice. Ocean front condos have doubled in the last year and now it is a nightmare (the traffic and congestion is like Los Angeles at 8. AM) and is a real zoo. I would not live here if you payed me, but fun to visit.

The boom has now hitting Sosua again where some ocean front and hi-end projects were sold out BEFORE they were started. What is Hot is:

1.) Hi-end with appreciation potential
    2.) Secure (boy this is important)
    3.) Well managed projects (a nightmare if you get into the wrong project)
    4.) Good generators with a track history