PDA

View Full Version : Living in Santo Domingo

jd_mine
10-09-2004, 10:22 AM
I'm in the software development department of a major telcom. Quality assurance side of it. Middle management.
I do think I could live in DR, if just for the weather alone. Lots better than shitty always raining Holland.
Now if I could just get my spanish up to a business level and get myself transferred to DR................yes my telcom is active in DR. When I tell the girls they always seem to think I work in a shop. They can't comprehense there must be something bigger behind all these little shops to make it actually function....
How would Santo Domingo be to live??? Lots different than the North Coast??

Jimmydr
10-09-2004, 10:28 AM
How would Santo Domingo be to live??? Lots different than the North Coast??

High rise Hotels, shopping malls, multiplex movies. Its a real city! :shock:

jd_mine
10-09-2004, 10:35 AM
Yeah, I know, even Santiago was a real city compared to Sosua and even Puerto Plata.
But in regards to lifestyle, girls etc. How does it compare to living in Sosua. I mean with a REAL job, not living like those expats in Sosua, who all claim to be millionaires, but don't have a peso....

WSJ3
10-09-2004, 12:04 PM
I have alot of free time on my hands...

Hence the plethora of naked "provider" pics.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v477/wsj3/RemyTeabaggingme.jpg

RearWindow
10-10-2004, 04:09 AM
I think you could make a go of it, but I would certainly visit often before you move, for WEEKS at a time, not days, AND search out the expats just to get the non-lala land vision of what IS a third world country at times. I am all but convinced that I will retire there,perhaps sooner than later, but I too will give it the time test.