PDA

View Full Version : Inform a newbie (questions)

dr.dr
03-02-2009, 11:41 PM
Hi all,

Please take it easy on a newbie here. Anyways after becoming bored w/ mongering in Costa Rica. I have decided to come down to DR from March 7th - March 14th. I'm flying in to Puerto Plata on March 7th afternoon. I have tentatively reserved a room at New Gardens hotel in Sosua for a week.

While I am somewhat familiar w/ mongering in Latin America, I'm mostly unfamiliar w/ mongering in DR since this is my first trip. As such I was hoping you vets here can answer some of my simple questions (I'm looking forward to meeting you guys in Sosua as well so I can learn the ropes, is there a clubhouse so to speak for ISOC gatherings in Sosua?)

1.) An USA passport is all that is required to gain entry to DR correct?

2.) I believe there is airport fee I must pay to enter DR after deboarding the plane, how much is it and is it payable in USD or DOP?

3.) Is there a place to change usd into dop inside the airport that has a reasonable exchange rate? I know from the threads I've read that Sosua has places w/ very reasonable exchange rates. Should I only change a small amount at the airport and then change the rest in Sosua or should I just do it in one lump sum?

4.) How much does it cost to get a taxi from PoP airport to New Gardens Hotel? (Does New Gardens arrange for airport pickup?) Would the taxi drivers know where it is or do I need the exact address? How long is the approx taxi ride? On that front, are taxis all legit in DR? Is there an official taxi type I should always search for? Do they have official meters that display the fare? I know in CR I have to watch out for pirate taxis (which are dangerous and you can be robbed) and ones that has unfunctioning meter so they can overcharge after the trip.

5.) Once I arrive as Sosua, how dangerous is it to walk around at night? Should I always hail a cab? How much is typical cab fare (so I don't get gypped) within Sousa?