PDA

View Full Version : Credit card rules change Thursday

leeway99
08-19-2009, 02:39 PM
It's about time.

http://articles.moneycentral.msn.com/Banking/CreditCardSmarts/higher-interest-rate-its-up-to-you.aspx

JD426
08-19-2009, 03:40 PM
It's about time.

http://articles.moneycentral.msn.com/Banking/CreditCardSmarts/higher-interest-rate-its-up-to-you.aspx

What these banks have been getting away with recently is borderline CRIMINAL. I hear $40 ? late feels, Interest rates jumping to 29% + if you miss ONE single payment, or are late just once. No Grace periods. $50 annual fees. bla bla
They can keep all that shit, Ive been running on a debit/ visa card for years now. NO FEES or problems whatsoever, and I watch what I spend, cause O know its MY money. Fuck all these banks and their Bullshit nickle and dime fees.
I shred ALL the solicitations. Will never fall for theit shit again. Took me a long time to learn to live Credit Card free.
And before I get flamed, I worked in the industry for years, so trust me its all just a big GAME , all pure profit. They make their money from Merchant fees which as high as 4.5 % on each and every sale.

Beads
08-19-2009, 06:04 PM
I use credit cards and definitely consider them useful. A few years ago during the credit boom it was easy to get those 0% APR credit cards for a year and I admit I would carry a balance on 1 card of up to a few thousand dollars and just pay it down. In the last 2 years those cards seem to have dried up as all I get is invitations to Discover card which doesnt interest me.

Definitely noticeble difference in how many credit cards are solicited to me in the last 2 years. Interest rates and their petty surcharges definitely going up which is why I pay off all balances at the end of the month.