PDA

View Full Version : Mercure guest friendly

Pepp-1
01-21-2008, 06:16 PM
Whats up everyone Newbie here. From a few threads I read that the Mercure and Discovery hotels are guest friendly. Just wondering if they still are. Planning my first trip to the DR in March. Going solo. Colonial area seems to be a nice place to stay. Any info will be a great help.

El Capitan
01-21-2008, 07:08 PM
Yes it is, although you need to "register" your guests, meaning they take her cedula from her until you bring her back. Search the SD threads for more info on Mercure.

If you're planning on TLN (or if not) you may want to book a double. Otherwise, they charge extra for your guests....and the double includes her getting a free breakfast.

I saw many an "all-star" over the holidays tryin to save a dime by booking a single and then by the time they paid for "her" and breakfast...they were not saving anything....of course, they try to plead the case....with no results....

Enjoy

psriches
01-21-2008, 08:46 PM
Their policy changed a little for 2008.

In the past, you could book a room for 2 with breakfast and shuttle different chicas in and out of your room.

But now as El Cap stated, you have to register ONE guest(by name) per night. A different chica will require a $17 fee.

Also, do a search for the web site and book from there. They always have "internet specials". I've booked rooms in the past for $50.

Pepp-1
01-21-2008, 09:19 PM
Yeah I see you can book a double for not much more. Thanks for the info.

Pepp-1
01-21-2008, 09:21 PM
OK little bit of a policy change. Guess they got hip to things.

psriches
01-21-2008, 09:53 PM
OK little bit of a policy change. Guess they got hip to things.NO, they were ok with things as they were but had some monger/chica drama sometime in December 2007. They had to take action because this is a "major" hotel and they had to maintain their image and reputation.